The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement is an international humanitarian movement with approximately 97 million volunteers, members and staff worldwide, which was founded to protect human life and health, to ensure respect for all human beings, and to prevent and alleviate human suffering.
Within it there are three distinct organisations which are legally independent from each other but are united within the movement through common basic principles, objectives, symbols, statutes and governing organisations. History of Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement

In 1859, young Swiss businessman, Jean Henry Dunant was appalled by the condition of the wounded soldiers, he happened to see in the battle field of Solferino, Italy during the Franco - Austrian war. He arranged relief services with the help of the local community immediately.
By 1862, he wrote the book A Memory of Solferino suggesting that a neutral organization be established to aid the wounded soldiers in times of war.
Just a year after the release of this book, an international conference was convened in Geneva to consider the suggestions of Henry Dunant and thus the Red Cross Movement was born. International Red Cross Movement was established by Geneva Convention of 1864. The name and the emblem of the movement are derived from the reversal of the Swiss national flag, to honor the country in which Red Cross was founded.

Indian Red Cross Society

The Indian Red Cross is a voluntary humanitarian organization having a network of over 1100 branches throughout the country, providing relief in times of disasters/emergencies and it promotes health and care of the vulnerable people and communities.
It is a leading member of the largest independent humanitarian organization in the world, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement.

Origin of Indian Red Cross Society

During the first world war in 1914, India had no organization for relief services to the affected soldiers, except a branch of the St. John Ambulance Association and a Joint Committee of the British Red Cross.
Later, a branch of the same Committee was started to undertake the much-needed relief services in collaboration with the St. John Ambulance Association in aid of the soldiers as well as civilian sufferers of first world war.
A bill to constitute the Indian Red Cross Society, Independent of the British Red Cross, was introduced in the Indian Legislative Council on 3rd March 1920 by Sir Claude Hill, member of the Viceroy's Executive Council who was also Chairman of the Joint war Committee in India. The Bill was passed on 17th March 1920 and became Act XV of 1920 with the assent of the Governor General on the 20th March 1920.

Haryana Red Cross Society

The Indian Red Cross Society, Haryana State Branch has been rendering humanitarian services to the people of Haryana since 1966.
All its humanitarian activities are based on the four core areas, i.e., Disaster Response, Disaster Preparedness, Health and Care in the community and promotion of humanitarian values and fundamental principles.
Bonded by seven fundamentals principles, i.e., Humanity, Impartiality, Neutrality, Independence, Voluntary Service, Unity and Universality the Indian Red Cross Society, Haryana State Branch has promoted mutual understanding, friendship, cooperation and lasting peace amongst all people. So, the mission of Haryana State Red Cross is to inspire, encourage and initiate at all forms of humanitarian activities so that human suffering can be minimised and even presented and thus contribute to create more congenial environment for peace and development.

Youth Red Cross Society Govt. P.G College for Women, Rohtak

The Youth Red Cross Society of Govt. P.G College for Women has been working since the foundation of this college.
At present about 250 volunteers of this college are working under Youth Red Cross Society. Along with volunteers, a team of 6 Assistant Professors is working with the society is devoting its time to fulfil the vision and mission of Red Cross Society.
The Team:
Convener Mr. Satish Panghal, Assistant Professor of Geography
Members :
1. Mr. Jogender Ahlawat, Assistant Professor of Computer Science
2. Mrs. Shammy Laj, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
3. Ms. Ridam, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
4. Mrs. Priyanka Dalal, Assistant Professor of Geography
5. Mr. Vijay Dahiya, Assistant Professor of Sociology

Read More